top of page


2022 Conference

Printable Agenda


Welcome Remarks 
Jon Burd, President, U.S. Court of Federal Claims Bar Association

State of the Court

Hon. Elaine Kaplan, Chief Judge

Hon. Brian Corcoran, Chief Special Master

Lisa Reyes, Clerk of Court

Panel Materials

How the Best Lawyers Do It: Case Management, Discovery, and Beyond
Moderator: Hon. Eleni Roumel

Presenter: Hon. Kristen Mix, U.S. Magistrate Judge D. Col.

Courtside Observations and Practical Advice from the Best Seats in the House 

Moderator: Joe McClure, Associate, Steptoe & Johnson
Panelists: Prof. Victoria Christoff and Adi Williams, Former Clerks for the Federal Circuit

Panel Materials

The Court’s Gatekeeping Role and FRE 702 

Moderator: Hon. Mary Ellen Coster Williams 
Presenter: Professor David E. Bernstein, Antonin Scalia School of Law

Panel Materials

Topics in Contracts: Top Things New Practitioners Should Know 
Moderator: Jessica Tillipman, Asst. Dean for Government Procurement Law
Studies, George Washington University
Panelists: Kelly Krystyniak, Trial Attorney, U.S. DOJ; Jeff Lowry, Associate, Vedder Price; Katie John, Associate General Counsel, ABL Space Systems

Historical Perspective: Delayed Justice for Japanese Americans in Post-WWII America (Keynote Address) 

Moderator: Hon. David A. Tapp
Presenter: John Tateishi, Author of Redress: The Inside Story of the Successful Campaign for Japanese American Reparations

Panel Materials

The Realities of Takings Litigation in the U.S. Court of Federal Claims 2000–2014

Moderator: Hon. Armando Bonilla 
Presenter: Prof. Dave Owen, University of California, Hastings College of Law

Panel Materials

The Interface of Science and Law: Developments in Vaccine Injury Cases
Moderator: Hon. Brian Corcoran, Chief Special Master
Presenter: Amber Wilson, PhD, JD, Wilson Science Law

Panel Materials

Civil Litigation and Implicit Bias (Ethics Credit)
Moderator: Hon. Carolyn Lerner 
Presenter: Hon. Bernice Donald, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

Panel Materials

Meet the New Judges
Moderator: Hon. Elaine Kaplan

Hon. Carolyn Lerner

Hon. Armando Bonilla

bottom of page